Maths I saw on my holidays – Toronto edition

by

Well I guess it must seem like all I ever do is go on holiday! Actually, work and life have been so hectic that the only time my batteries are recharged enough to blog are after I’ve taken time away. Check out the Cambridge MathsJam blog to see what else I’ve been up to in the past few months.

So I had the chance last week to spend a few days in the Canadian city of Toronto and the surrounding area. Here’s some of the maths I spotted.

The very first walk we went on took us past Canada’s Walk of Fame, where I snapped this picture of a ‘star’ who lends his name to a problem that causes arguments among probability enthusiasts the world over:

A little further along the road, I was outraged by this misuse of mathematical symbolism:

No wonder our students misuse the equals sign to be a “the answer is” sign!
Moving on, while stocking up on some important groceries I noticed that in Canada you can buy cereal with magnitude and direction:

The most awe-inspiring parts of the trip were the natural beauty and force of nature that is Niagara Falls, and the towering man-made achievement of the CN Tower. First the falls:

Here are some facts about Niagara falls. I wonder what it’s possible to deduce from the picture.

And here’s a view looking pretty much straight down from the CN Tower. I wonder if it’s possible to estimate the height from this picture. Visit the CN Tower Website for all your CN Tower factoids.

Well after all that I’m pretty hungry. Can you estimate the calories in this picture?

Finally I was drawn in by this basketball court.

I’m sure it’s to put mathematicians off their game by distracting them with intriguing patterns!

I’m already thinking about where to go on holiday next, once my Masters thesis is submitted. Any suggestions of maths-rich holiday locations? Any favourite maths pics from where you are?

12 Responses to “Maths I saw on my holidays – Toronto edition”

  1. Firas Sawaf Says:

    There is also another objection to raise about the misuse of the = sign – it seems to be in the wrong place altogether!

    It looks like the + and = signs need to swap places, unless cycling causes a lot more damage to the environment than I thought ;-)

  2. Holiday Maths | Webmaths Says:

    [...] I am not the only Maths teacher who discovers examples of Mathematics on their holidays. Check out Alison Kiddle’s post on her NRICH [...]

  3. webmaths Says:

    Hi Alison, I also look for examples of Mathematics when on holiday. My latest post on Webmaths shows two examples I found in Bali. I also put a link to your holiday post. Perhaps if a group of Maths teachers contributed a few of their own examples we could develop a useful resource? Jeff Trevaskis

  4. hcg diets Says:

    Generally I do not learn article on blogs, but I would like to
    say that this write-up very forced me to try and do so!
    Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thank you, very nice article.

  5. http://www.cozenspointe.com/ Says:

    You should be a part of a contest for one of the finest sites
    on the net. I most certainly will recommend this
    blog!

  6. Celebrity weight loss Says:

    Hello very nice web site!! Guy .. Beautiful ..

    Amazing .. I will bookmark your website and take the feeds additionally?

    I’m happy to seek out a lot of useful info right here within the put up, we want work out extra strategies in this regard, thanks for sharing.

    . . . . .

  7. http://xtremeantlerreview.net/ Says:

    Truly when someone doesn’t be aware of afterward its up to other visitors that they will
    help, so here it occurs.

  8. horsepower Plus Says:

    Excellent post however I was wondering if
    you could write a litte more on this subject? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit further.
    Many thanks!

  9. ครีมรักษาสิว Says:

    I’m curious to find out what blog platform you are
    working with? I’m experiencing some minor security
    issues with my latest site and I would like to find something more safe.
    Do you have any solutions?

  10. distributor herbalife Says:

    This paragraph will assist thе internet viewers for creating
    new webpage or even a blog from start to end.

  11. blackplanet.com Says:

    This will be actually decent- Thank you and continue the decent labor of love…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

