Charity Shop Maths 2

by

My second charity shop find is the marble puzzle that some of us played with at October MathsJam.

I picked this puzzle up in a charity shop somewhere down south while waiting for my brother to have a job interview this summer. I recognised the puzzle because my other little brother had it as a child and I used to spend hours playing with it after he’d gone to bed, when I was babysitting.

The object of the game is to use the Knight’s move from chess to swap all the blue marbles with the… well… I think they’re brownish, or maybe pink? Anyway, the marbles of the other colour. According to the box, 50-55 moves is average and 45 is excellent. I seem to remember I used to be able to solve it reliably, efficiently and quickly, but having played around with it again I have forgotten all the little tricks and skills I had as a teenager.

If I get any spare time in the next twenty years or so, then implementing a computer version of this puzzle would be an interesting programming challenge. It’s probably already been done, but it’s the sort of thing I can imagine rather enjoying having a go at for myself. Meanwhile, when I get bored of using my Tower of Hanoi as a stress-reliever that lets my mind wander, I have the Knights problem to occupy my hands too.

2 Responses to “Charity Shop Maths 2”

  1. Claire Says:

    I love the Knight’s Move game so much I made an online version! Seriously – here: http://secretcorridor.com/widgets/?page=knightsmove

    You are welcome to add it to your blog if you wish :)

    • Alison Says:

      That’s great, Claire, thanks for sharing. I would like to have a go at coding my own knight’s move game at some point, as part of my master plan to learn to be a better programmer :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

