Teacher support materials on NRICH

by

This month we republished an old NRICH favourite which we dusted off and repackaged to reflect the way we’re thinking about task design for the secondary site at the moment. If you’ve never met the problem Tilted Squares before, I urge you to take a look and have a play, as it’s one of my favourites.

We’ve also done something slightly different with the Teachers’ Notes to this problem. Charlie and I were recently working on Tilted Squares with a group from a school in London, and we arranged to have the session filmed. The notes include extracts from the video footage – the clips are quite long, I’m afraid. Having watched the sessions back (which is always going to be nerve-wracking – I don’t think I’ve ever met a teacher who enjoys watching video footage of their teaching!) we have our own ideas about what was successful and what we maybe should have done differently, but I am very keen to know what others see in them. So if you have time to watch some of the footage and then leave a comment here, I’d be very grateful. More generally though, is it useful to include video in our Teachers’ Notes? Do you have suggestions of other changes we could make to our teacher support materials?

One Response to “Teacher support materials on NRICH”

  1. Tweets that mention Teacher support materials on NRICH « Alison Kiddle's NRICH blog -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by The NCETM, Alison Kiddle. Alison Kiddle said: New blogpost: http://bit.ly/gSdWzn Secondary Maths teachers who use NRICH, I would love to hear from you! […]

Leave a comment