The Pizza survey – part 2

by

Here is the first instalment of the eagerly awaited results to the pizza survey. Go and read part 1 for the context.

As of this afternoon, there were 504 respondents. I removed one duplicate and one nonsense response, and have done my best to interpret everything else.

In answer to the question “Are you a mathematician?” there were 217 unambiguous “yes” answers (either yes or Y), and 225 unambiguous “no” responses. In addition, there were 7 responses along the lines of “yes ish” or “yes but”, 42 responses that I interpret as being positive, and 11 responses I interpret as being negative. In the next paragraph, I will outline my interpretation process for these.

I was rather generous in assigning people to the group “mathematician” rather than “non-mathematician”, so I gave people the benefit of the doubt. Anyone responding “Depends how you define mathematician” was definitely enough of a mathmo by my standards. I accepted physicists and computer scientists as long as they showed some desire to be counted, for example those who said “I’m a physicist – is that close enough” counted as a yes, but the respondent who said “No, I’m better than that, I’m a physicist” was counted as a no. All those who said they were studying to become a mathematician were included in the positive responses.

Of the 225 unambiguous “no” respondents to the mathematician question, 11 also answered “no” to the pizza question, and 185 answered yes. The other responses will have to wait until I have time for more detailed analysis. Of the 217 unambiguous “yes” respondents to the mathematician question, 12 answered “no” to the pizza question, and 185 answered “yes”. So my preliminary findings are that no matter how many respondents you have, 185 will always be unambiguously in favour of pizza. Alternatively, it seems that I have found that for those who follow me on Twitter or who follow someone who is likely to retweet a silly twitter experiment that I made, whether they are mathematicians or not makes very little difference to their pizza loving.

If there is enough demand for it, I’ll sift through the rest of the spreadsheet and analyse some more. And if you ask very nicely, I might post some graphs too!

One Response to “The Pizza survey – part 2”

  1. Marina Isaac Says:

    I’d love to hear more – it’s giving me inspiration for a joint probability distribution example for my students!

    I’m the partial mathematician (computer scientist who also teaches statistics and am happy to be counted as a yes), who took longer than expected to complete the survey and doesn’t like greasy pizza toppings. Looking at the question you want to answer, there’s a snag: you count the full-on thick-based pizza with toppings such as bacon (greasy) and mushrooms (probably dripping in butter) as an improvement in standard, while someone like me would prefer the baguette version, though a thin crust with artichokes, capers and fresh herbs among the toppings would be my preference.

    So as well as saying yes please, it would be wonderful to see further analysis (see, I’m asking nicely), could you define how you measure the standard of pizza?

    Thanks in advance… looking forward to the next post…

Leave a Reply

